top of page
Search

Memories and Braveness

Angela and I grew up attending high holiday services with our mom's singing group at Genesis, a small gathering that popped up in various places throughout our childhood, from community centers and churches, to intimate gatherings in the Schumer's living room. We threw My Little Ponies off the balcony during the long discussion portions. Now my kids make "houses" out of the chairs and doodle in the back room. Generation to generation. Vibrant energy from the musicians fills the room and takes me back completely. The next day, I put on a pair of earrings that my sister intricately designed and one of her long service dresses left behind.... Thinking of all the "synogigs", as she called them, that Angela would be rushing to over the next week or two, I bring her with me to family services at Temple Emanuel and center my heart to the vibrations of the present moment. It's the second time in my life that I have helped lead a high holiday service. The first was maybe 20 years ago. Nervous, but so grateful to Rabbi Schloss for reaching out to me to be a part of their high holidays. Offering music gives me so much peace.🎶💕

After services, the kids went to play at Des Peres Park with friends and walked into a beautiful Tashlich moment with another congregation. They were throwing pebbles in the water and "casting away" their sadness, anger, negativity, wrongdoings with each stone. We joined in and reset our hearts on the future. A time to be brave... because the next moment I caught my girls fearlessly handling snakes and lizards with the new friends, they found by the water! 🐍🦎😮

Then, to Gramma's for dinner, brisket of course, and Mom's FIRST ever KUGEL! 👩🏻‍🍳😚💕👌 Go mom! Always trying new things! (Angela would be so proud.) And we are FULL. Heart and belly.

This Rosh Hashanah, find what fills your heart. Try something new, enter the new year fearlessly, and if you find your heart drawn into a musical vibration. Share some of that here. Angela Gold Music Scholarship Fund helps the musicians who lead and lift our hearts in fearless prayer.



(Pictured above, Angela says she is "shaking off nerves")

Apples, honey, snakes??🍎🍯🐍

This young lady's First Kugel! 👩🏻‍🍳

My 1st High Holy day service at TE 😬

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page